Austin City Council Election 1987

The 1987 election marked the beginning of staggered terms taking effect, so that only three council seats were contested. From here on out, the term in office would be for three years.

Michael “Max” Nofziger won a council seat on his fifth consecutive attempt, pulling 50.92 percent of votes in the runoff.

Incumbents George Humphrey and Sally Shipman both managed to hang onto their council seats in runoffs.

This map, and all other maps for subsequent council election years, reflect not just the members elected but the seven who would serve together until the next election.