Electees & Runoff Candidates for Mayor and City Council 2014

Austin voters on November 6, 2012, approved Proposition 3 by a vote of 146,496 (60.16 percent) to 96,999 (39.84 percent). The proposition amended the Austin City Charter to require election of council members from 10 geographic districts, with only the mayor to be elected from the city at-large.

Proposition 2 in the election of November 6, 2012, was approved by 76.62 percent of voters to amend the City Charter to move the city’s general election date from May to November, to provide that council members serve four-year staggered terms, to provide that council elections occur in even-numbered years, and to limit the mayor and council members to two terms.

Propositions 2 and 3 are being implemented through the mayoral and city council elections of November 4, 2014, and the runoff election of December 16, 2014.

This map indicates the residence address of the three city council candidates who won a seat on the Austin City Council in the election of November 4, 2014; the residence address of the two candidates vying for mayor in the December 16, 2014 runoff; and the residence address of the 14 city council candidates who are vying for election in the December 16 runoff.

The 11 people elected will inaugurated January 6, 2015, in a ceremony scheduled for 6pm in council chambers at Austin City Hall. The newly elected council will provide for a drawing of lots for the iniital transition to staggered terms. Five of the newly elected council members will have two-year terms ending in January 2017. The other five will have four-year terms ending in January 2019.